Daily Spiritual Practices

14 Vaskaras 3336

Hello,

In our very busy day-to-day lives, it can be hard to make time for Dea. Most Deanists will say a little prayer at night and perhaps in the morning, but understandably, we often fail to pray, listen to Her or call on Her any other time of the day (other than on feast days). I am awful for this. Some days I’m even too busy and stressed that I feel like I don’t have the energy to pray, but ironically, those are the days I need Dea the most.

Many Deanists have written prayers that are to be said multiple times a day, facing certain directions, calling on various mysteries, etc. I would love to be able to do that, but for some people a system like that just isn’t possible. So, I’m in the process of coming up with little spiritual practices that can be done throughout the day without taking up too much time and getting us in trouble with our bosses etc.

  • Morning Prayer: In the morning, welcome in the dawn with light ring of a bell. This will clear negative energies from your aura and help you call in the Spirit. Make the pentacle or fora or another holy symbol upon yourself. Morning prayer may just be petitioning Dea to help you walk through the day as She would, being a mirror of Her grace and love, and thanking Her for the new day.
  • Grace Before Meals: When in public, praying before meals can cause feelings of anxiety. In this day and age doing so may make those around you view you as some sort of ‘religious nut’ and they may make assumptions about you and what you believe. A Mormon missionary once told me that when in public around non-Mormons, he does what he calls a ‘migraine prayer’, crossing your hands over his slightly bowed head to silently thank God for his meal. I like this approach a lot.
  • Images of Dea: I can’t remember where I read this but I know one Deanic website (possibly Mother-G0d) suggests bowing before statues of Mary etc as they are representations of Dea. I ADORE this, but for the reasons I touched on above, this can be hard to do for many people. Instead, consider bowing your head and greeting Her silently to yourself, or simply put your fingers to your lips and extend your hand towards her, as a symbol of reverent love.
  • Head Covering: Many Pagans, Goddess worshippers and a few Deanists cover their heads as a sign of devotion to the Divine. I cover during ritual and the month of Moura. Head covering doesn’t have to be a large veil covering all of the hair, it can simply be a wide headband or a hat.
  • Listening: Most of us are familiar with the concept of prayer. It’s when you talk to Dea. But when was the last time you listened to Her? Sometimes we get so caught up in the world around us that we forget that through the Daughter, Dea is an imminent and active force in our lives. In the silence, through music, by reading scriptures, we can hear Her voice. She can give us counsel, comfort, and advise us on day to day issues.
  • Daily Scripture: Not all Deanists use the Filianic/Madrian scriptures, but for those that do, simply reading a passage a day and meditating on it is a great spiritual practice. Simply pick one at random and think about what it means to you as you go about your day. Deanic Christians may use the Bible, Gnostic Deanists may use the Nag Hammadi scriptures, etc.
  • Night Time prayer: Unless we have had a particularly busy day, night time may be a time we can spend a little longer communing with Dea. Light candles at your altar, say longer prayers, pray the rosary. I like to stand at my altar, light candles, pray and then sit in the silence and take deep breaths, letting Her calm me before I sleep. I imagine Her singing me to sleep and wrapping me in a warm blanket like an earthly mother would with her little child. I find this helps a lot with my insomnia.

I really hope this helps, and I’d love to hear about your spiritual, every day practices!

4dfaafe8

Madria Erin

4 thoughts on “Daily Spiritual Practices

  1. I was so surprised to see that third point about bowing to images of Dea: I have a few in my room, and it is my custom to at least nod my head and make some mental salutation to Her whenever I enter the space. How fascinating it is to see that one isn’t the only one doing certain little things!

    Oh but I love this post. I love reading about devotions and how people find connection to the Divine. As part of cleaning up my schedule and refocusing on the right priorities, I’ve worked up morning and evening devotions to keep next to my bedroom altar. Sticking to them really seems to help me have a better day!

    Like

    1. You’ve just given me a lovely little idea, actually. I might type up some morning & evening devotions, make them look all pretty, then have them printed professionally and have them framed above my altar.

      Like

    2. I have found that to be an unusually rewarding practice, too. At first, I thought it might be rather inconvenient, to be honest (at least when one has an image of Dea in a high traffic area of the home), but it is well worth it. The traditional bow used is the “rayati”, performed with the hands pressed together palm-to-palm at the level of the forehead (as one sometimes sees the Dalai Lama and other Buddhist monks do). It is much more graceful than it sounds!

      Like

  2. I start each day with recitation of the Filianic Creed, and close it with the prayer upon retiring found in the Gospel of Our Mother God, as well as the little ritual of “calling the Spirit” (blowing into a flame to stoke it, symbolizing the return of the Spirit to the supernal Sun), for which I use a candle that I then let burn out overnight to represent the presence of God the Daughter even in the depths of the darkness. Add to this offering food, bowing to images, and chanting the rosary each Rayadi, and that makes up my usual routine.

    I would really like to start adding more dedicated time for scripture study. I wonder if a few of us could set up a rotation, taking turns to send a couple of verses with a thought or commentary out each day for reflection (I’m envisioning a listserv or something similar)? I think that might be a valuable service for the community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

