The Sacred Month of Astraea

Werde 28

4357603-angstars_gif_480_480_0_64000_0_1_0
Tomorrow is the first day of the Deanic month of Astraea, meaning Star Maiden. It’s also the first day of the Deanic season of Winter.
 
The correspondence of the stars to the winter makes a lot of sense to me.
Just as sailors in the days before our advanced navigational technology would use the North Star to guide them to safety, the Holy Daughter is our guide to safety. As we sail on the ocean of the universe, we can often feel lost and overwhelmed. But we turn our heads to the sky, and She is there to guide us home.
We decorate our homes with little lights that look like stars. After a long day of work in the winter, when the bus is late, when you’re freezing, wet, hungry and tired, you still know you have a warm, inviting home lit up with lights waiting for you. As does our Mother have a heavenly home lit up with lights prepared for us.
When we look up at the nights sky, we often forget that we are looking at suns. They are obviously much further away, which is why they seem tiny compared to the miraculous golden orb that lights our day times, but they are still suns. On a clear night, when you look at the night sky and see stars, you are in fact looking at thousands and thousands of far away suns. No matter how dark things seem, the universe is full of light, and this world is full of goodness. It is full of kind, selfless, courageous, wonderful people. It is full of miraculous beauty. And although clothes may hide the stars from our sight sometimes, they remain. 
As many of you know, I have been going through a particularly hard time lately. I don’t want to go in to detail, but my mental health has taken a sharp turn for the worse. But thanks to my faith and the care of my Heavenly Mother, I write this with a smile on my face.
Blessings,
Madria Erin
6 thoughts on “The Sacred Month of Astraea

  1. Dearest Madria Erin, Many thanks for your smile, Praise be to Dea and also for reminding me that stars are distant suns. As a child I gazed out of the bedroom window across the rooftops to the woods and fields beyond all star lit. Looking up to Heaven, I knew that was home, that I was a star child. It is an uplifting Sacred season despite the cold and dark.
    Love and Light of Dea. Blessed is She
    Sophia Ruth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Maria Erin, I, to, shared a love of the stars, and the moon, ever since I was a little girl. My hope had always been to become an astronomer, but obviously, that didn’t pan out. Thank you for bringing back so many memories of standing alone, outside, on a crisp Dec. evening, gazing at the stars with my little telescope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

